Cookie Use Notification

This site uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalised service.

By using this site you agree to our use of cookies as set out in our cookie notice. Please read our cookie notice for more information on the cookies we use and how to delete or block the use of cookies.

The Luxury Retail Market

Magali Marton

Directrice Serv Etudes

Directrice Serv Etudes

Phone +33 1 86461095

Contact me

The full report

THE LUXURY RETAIL MARKET

22 openings by end September

With tourists returning to Paris (12% year-on-year increase in foreign visitor hotel arrivals at the end of June), activity in the luxury retail sector rose over the first three quarters of 2018. 22 openings were recorded by the end of September, compared with 19 over the same period last year. Because of the high level of signatures realized in 2017, this recovery is a clear indication of the capital’s strong appeal for luxury retailers. Over 90% of the openings seen over the period were recorded in Paris, with the remainder confined to the Côte d’Azur.

Traditional players in the luxury market still consider Paris to be an attractive market. However, for almost the last three years the number of new entrants has slowed. This phenomenon is partially linked to high rental values which can limit the development plans of some retailers that don’t have the same financial capacities as larger companies. Accounting for over 25% of the openings by the end of September, pop-up stores now make a significant contribution to transaction volumes and now are fully integrated into the luxury market. Openings of this type were mainly concentrated in the area between Madeleine/Saint-Honoré/Vendôme. Back in 2012, this format accounted for just 4% of openings.

Activity over the first three quarters of 2018 was driven by retailers in the fashion (59%) and watches and jewellery (18%) sectors; this is in line with the average recorded for the last five years. The beauty sector also appears to be a significant growth area for the luxury houses. The market share for these sectors should soon increase due to imminent openings by Chanel and Dior.

For more information, please download the pdf : https://f.datasrvr.com/fr1/518/62011/Point_luxe_Sept.2018_VF_en-GB.pdf?cbcachex=584634

Cushman & Wakefield

Avis utilisation des cookies

Ce site utilise des cookies afin d'améliorer votre expérience utilisateur.

En utilisant ce site, vous acceptez l'utilisation des cookies comme indiqué dans notre politique relative aux cookies. Consultez notre charte pour plus d'informations sur l'utilisation, la désactivation ou la suppression des cookies.

Le marche des Commerces de Luxe

Magali Marton

Directrice Serv Etudes

Directrice Serv Etudes

T: +33 1 86461095

Contacter

Ce qui suit est un résumé

LE MARCHE DES COMMERCES DE LUXE


22 ouvertures à fin septembre

Avec le retour des touristes sur la capitale (+12% d’arrivées hôtelières de clients étrangers sur 1 an à fin juin), le commerce de luxe a connu un regain d’activité sur les trois premiers trimestres de l’année 2018. On compte ainsi 22 ouvertures à fin septembre contre 19 à la même époque l’an dernier. Conséquence des nombreuses signatures réalisées en 2017, cette reprise de l’activité illustre un attrait non dissimulé pour la capitale de la part de l’ensemble des enseignes du luxe. Paris a représenté plus de 90% des ouvertures de la période, limitant la part des régions à la Côte d’Azur.

Les acteurs historiques du luxe considèrent toujours Paris comme un marché attractif. Néanmoins, nous constatons depuis près de 3 ans, un ralentissement du nombre des nouveaux entrants. Ce phénomène est en partie lié à des valeurs locatives élevées qui peuvent freiner le développement de certaines enseignes qui ne bénéficient pas de l’assise financière de grandes structures. Avec plus de 25% des ouvertures réalisées à fin septembre, le pop-up devient une composante significative des mouvements enregistrés récemment et s’intègre désormais pleinement au marché du luxe. Les ouvertures se sont concentrées principalement dans la portion située entre Madeleine/Saint-Honoré/Vendôme. Rappelons que ce format ne représentait que 4% des ouvertures en 2012.

L’activité des trois premiers trimestres 2018 aura été portée par les secteurs de la mode (59%) et de l’horlogerie joaillerie (18%), à l’instar de la moyenne relevée ces 5 dernières années. L’activité beauté apparaît également comme un relais de croissance significatif pour les maisons du luxe. La part de ce secteur devrait se renforcer prochainement avec les ouvertures prochaines de Chanel et Dior...

Téléchargez l'étude ci-dessus pour avoir plus d'informations.

Téléchargez la version en anglais ici : https://f.datasrvr.com/fr1/518/62011/Point_luxe_Sept.2018_VF_en-GB.pdf?cbcachex=584634

Cushman & Wakefield